I am from…

I am from the kitchen chair drinking English breakfast tea.

From dishes and books to teach my children and to read for myself.

I am from the big blue house on a street in the city shaded with big old trees.

From veggies and jasmine rice cooking, from toys and shoes and odds and ends in every room but where they belong.

I am from the corn and wheat fields, goldenrod along the rolling country roads,    roses in the back yard and cardinals in the bushes.

The huge oak in the back yard whose long, long limbs I wish I could remember as if they were my own…this home is so new and I wonder sometimes why we are here.

I’m from Danish pancakes for Christmas and Grandma’s pumpkin pie for dessert after dinner. 

From Danish Grandpa married to hardworking Grandma and riding in the Woody in the parade.

From looking a lot like my Aunt and cousins the same age as my kids. I’m from dutch lunch for supper and raking the leaves in the fall and from riding the back roads all muddy in the Jimmy.

I’m from “love your neighbor” and “do your best, that’s all you can do” and “My God is so BIG! So strong and so mighty there’s nothing my God cannot do.”

I’m from singing “It makes me think of the good old days, Happy Birthday to you!” on birthdays.

I’m from small town Midwest and farmers for family and friends, early American founders, explorer Clark and Appalachian mountain dwellers way down the family line.

From Frickadiler and cheesy potatoes.

From popcorn and strawberries.

From Great Grandpa who ran a small town store.

From Dad who can fix cars and do the odd job.

From Mom, a wonderful hostess and is so much fun.

From crocheting like one Grandma taught me, and knitting just like my other Grandma used to.

From the little writing desk in the corner Great Grandpa gave me, the man who fished and farmed and had lambs and was short.

From “the Farm” where we all would fish and my sister and I would hike along the crick.

From the lavender L shaped bedroom with time to think and write.

From playing “house” and “library” all dressed like Laura or Anne of Green Gables. From long walks with Shane wherever we live – talking and continuing to talk half the night.

From 4 kids – each born in a different city.

From Winnie the Pooh quotes “Here.we.are.All.of.us.” with our us all grinning.

From “I’m going to the moon and I’m taking…” and “can we watch another show?” From loud and crazy wrestling/tickle matches and late nights and getting lunches ready for a day of window washing.

From holding Quechua babies and eating spicy guinea pig meat with potatoes and hot sauce.

From gasping for breath as we hike up the street of the village in the high altitude and greeting the neighbors or sitting a while to pass the time.

From crying over losses with a new friend and encouraging our old one.

From no water today and a full pile dirty clothes to wash, from kids at the door with questions.

From sitting in the cool evening with a cup of Milo looking at the stars close.

From laughing like nothing else matters with some of the best friends in the world.

From missing it all and from wondering what it’s all about.

From thanks and discouragement, and fear and anger and defeat.

From knowing Truth and learning to live it.

From kindness extended and grace given.

From an unshakeable place of knowing that God is in control and holds me in his hand.

This is part of who I am and where I am from.

(Inspired by “Where I’m From” by George Ella Lyon )Image

6 responses to “I am from…

Leave a Reply

