Roots

Going down deep

They stretch down

Reaching for a better footing

Reaching for life and sustenance

 

It takes a while

At first I felt like a small tree on the edge of a cliff

I wanted to be strong

I wanted to not just grow big,

But I wanted to grow deep

Gain strength that would sustain me in the storms

No matter my size or where it was I was growing

tree on a ledge

Close to the edge but what a view

Just to reach down and accept the water and nutrients that keep me going

It’s what matters

It’s what makes for green and growing inner core

Leaves and fruit possibly

But without the roots going down and soaking up the life-giving nutrients,

How can there be change on the outside?

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

It’s a Friday and I’m joining in with Lisa-Jo and all the rest to write for 5 minutes with a one-word prompt – but without over thinking and deleting.  Join us?

9 responses to “Roots

Leave a Reply

